The ten story Corrigan building at 1828 Walnut is listed on the National Registry of Historic Places and was initially completed in 1921. The 123,000 square foot concrete frame building was built by Thomas E. Corrigan, who pioneered a mule drawn streetcar line back in the 1880s because Kansas City’s roads were in such terrible shape.
Originally built for the U.S. Post Office, it was also home to the Nelly Don dress manufacturing company, offices for the Veterans Administration and other miscellaneous office and distribution companies over its 95 year life. Keene & Simpson were the original architects who also designed the Jackson County Courthouse.
The newly christened Corrigan Station will showcase new historic floor-to-ceiling windows with unobstructed 360 degree views of the Kansas City skyline, wide open 11,000 square foot floor plates, a rooftop special events space, a new parking garage, first floor restaurant space with 18 foot ceilings and it’s strategically located on the new streetcar line with a stop right at the corner at 19th and Walnut!
Hollis + Miller Architects will be calling Corrigan their home soon. They’ve leased the top three floors and will consolidate their Overland Park and Lee’s Summit offices into the new space.
A joint venture between Copaken Brooks and 3D Development are behind this newest revival in the Crossroads. Blackbird Design Studio, PMA Engineering, Lankford Fendler + Associates, SK Design Group, Rosin Preservation and Straub Construction round out the team.